Day 8: Off

Not much to report today. Just a lot of time in airports and on planes.

I woke up and broke the shower apparently. I couldn’t get it to turn off. When I got the manager to look the knob came off in her hand spraying water everywhere. This all happened at 7am right before we left for the airport. Other than plumbing problems the room wasn’t bad, especially for the money.

When we got to the bus station we found the bus was scheduled or too close to our flight so we spent 40 RMB more (about $8) to take a taxi instead, and a woman also at the station joined us, so I guess that’s our good deed for the day.

Our flight was uneventful and we find ourselves in Guangzhou (Canton) again for a long layover. I’m now bored out of my mind waiting for our flight to Bangkok. But hey, I have a new stamp!

As we get ready to leave China I have a little regret we didn’t have more time in Lijiang and the surrounding area. It’s the one place I would go back to, and there is like a week’s worth of things to do. I would have liked to have gone to Jade Dragon Snow Mountain and hiked leaping tiger gorge. I would have liked to have seen this series of really cool water falls. It would have been fun to go into the outlying towns and do some biking in the country side. I don’t think I’ll be coming back any time soon though, and by the time I do it will be vastly different.

Bye Bye China!

Well I guess there was more to report from the previous day than just my boredom in the airport. We arrived late at night and caught a taxi from the airport to our hotel. I made a funny when I tried to get into the taxi and opened the driver’s door. I had no idea Thailand drove on the left. The hotel we went to really quite nice. Baller in fact. I’m actually going to post pictures of the hotel room something I never really do. It just really speaks to state of mind. It’s a crazy juxtaposition between just 2 nights before when I couldn’t sleep because of rats in my wall. We ended up splitting a crazy nice suite and I got some of the best sleep of the trip. We booked a second night to avoid moving hotels and so we could poke around Bangkok.

Leave a Reply

